Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Designing road race truck chassis, could use help.....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Designing road race truck chassis, could use help.....

Hi folks, I am looking for anyone in the Bangshift family, who has experience in road racing chassis design. I am helping a good friend of mine, design a chassis for his 65
    sigpic"Take most people, they're crazy about cars† I'd rather have a goddam horse. A horse is at least human, for God's sake."

Jerome David Salinger

Ford pick up, which he plans to use as an occasional auto cross and time trial vehicle, yet it will still need to be a street vehicle. It needs to retain some accessibility to the passenger compartment.
    sigpic"Take most people, they're crazy about cars† I'd rather have a goddam horse. A horse is at least human, for God's sake."

Jerome David Salinger

Comment

As a mechanical engineer, I have some experience in this type of design, but by no means am I an expert in this field. I have found several websites on chassis design which are more or less, rough overviews, which outline basic design steps, but don't go into specific detail.

Jerome David Salinger

Comment

. I am using Solid works Cosmos to do some Finite evaluation. Any help or suggestions, opinions, would be greatly appreciated. Front and rear suspension will come from a 03’ Crown Vic Police car. He would like to use coilover’s all round, most likely 5 link rear suspension.

Here are some preliminary design drawings.

Thanks, Craig W.

Last edited by OHC230; April 20, 2012, 09:11 AM.

Jerome David Salinger

Comment