Broke spark plug....grrr....2165cc Volkswagen

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Broke spark plug....grrr....2165cc Volkswagen

Had a cylinder on the green Sandrail go dead this past summer. Plug was stuck, so we drug it home and I have been soaking it down for the last 5 months with PB Blaster and a mix of ATF and Acetone.

Have been trying to tighten and loosen it off and on for those 5 months to no effect at all.

Last week I decided enough soaking, and that if the threads were going to pull out so be it. Got the breaker bar out and got on it seriously, fully expecting the threads to strip out. (its somewhat common on these VW aircooled heads anyways)

Instead the $#*@ plug threads snapped off. SERIOUSLY? Welcome home Murphy, we've been missing you lately.

My buddy Jim loaned me this set of shouldered extractors to try. The plan is to install the extractor, get a good bite, then remove extractor and try to get a torch tip down there to heat the plug thread piece. Then reinstall the extractor and cross fingers (maybe sprinkle some holy water on it first?)

I've never had one stuck this bad before. The other three are perfect, Go figure.
    Last edited by STINEY; February 13, 2017, 08:15 AM.
    Of all the paths you take in life - make sure a few of them are dirt.

don't take long to remove a head on that, does it? I would do that first, get it out on the work bench where you can work on it...
    My fabulous web page

"If it don't go, chrome it!" --Stroker McGurk

Comment

Protuding threads in the cylinder does that every time..
      Do you use anti-seize?
      Mostly al- ferrous does it too.. Hot spark welded the plug in?

Comment

Yes to anti-seize. This hole MAY have a thread insert in it. I seem to remember that these aftermarket heads had them installed by CB performance as a preventive measure.