1929 " Silver seeder" Model A

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1929 " Silver seeder" Model A

I've been collecting parts to do this build for about 2 years, starting with the rolling chassis. One of the guys my dad works with, lost his father a a few years ago and decided to start cleaning up his property. I had been buying various automotive things from him and hadn't paid much attention to the frame. Until one day I got to looking at the hubcaps on it.
    IMG_5276 by , on Flickr
    Which the 18" wheels and hubcaps are 32 ford, I thought I had won the lottery of potential Hot Rod builds.After pulling the scrap metal off of this one time hay wagon off I found the cross member to be a straight piece of metal and not a K. Needless to say I still bought it for the whopping sum of $50. At that point I shoved it into the tree row and started looking for a motor, as I figured that would dictate the build. The first motor I found was a 1946 Cadillac V8 for a couple hundred bucks, The huge downfall was an 8 inch crack in the side of the block. Fixable but both my dad and the seller thought it was to heavy of a motor for the A frame. So my search turned to a Flat head V8, despite the constant suggestion to just go with a small block chevy. Oddly enough I came across a 30's Gleaner- Baldwin 4 banger ( hence the name silver seeder) that was made by ford. My old mail man who lived 3 miles away had bought it to power a buzz saw.
    DSC_0484 by , on Flickr