Bob's Blown Modified Mini Pickup

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bob's Blown Modified Mini Pickup

Tomorrow I go and "pickup" the hulk of our start towards Bonneville in 2015. We have the parts substantially rounded up, it'll be about getting the build done.

Our goals are modest, but nonetheless difficult for 2015. In 8 months we want to build a tech-able, safe, vehicle that will get a number of us licenses. We'll go for it big time in 2016.

Pictures this weekend.
    I'm still learning

Must......have.......pictures.

Sounds like a cool project. Let me warn you - a simple engine swap takes 2 years. I know this from recent personal experience.

Dan

Comment

Dan, this is much more than an engine swap.

I've got it home, so pictures soon.

It is the definition of making a silk purse out of a sow's ear.
      I'm still learning

Comment

Originally posted by Bob Holmes View Post

Function over form, nothing wrong with that............So where are the pictures?

Comment

Originally posted by Bob Holmes View Post

Just teasin' ya. Mine wasn't a "simple swap" either - but it DID take 2 years. For years my bro called my projects "Silk Purse 1, 2, 3," etc. I know all about the silk purse thing.

Dan

Comment

Engine swaps - the ESSENCE of hot rodding !
            http://team61racecars.webs.com/

http://baccusent.webs.com/

Comment

We're crossbreeding these two. 1972 Datsun 521 pickup. [ATTACH=CONFIG]n1010869[/ATTACH]
              Last edited by Bob Holmes; February 22, 2015, 07:50 PM.
              I'm still learning

Comment

We'll start tearing the pickup apart this evening. We hope to have the cab, fenders and bed off, and the frame on its way back to Chico in a bit over a week.
                I'm still learning

Comment

Rock On!! If I had a budget maybe mine would have gone more quickly - or maybe not.........

Dan

Comment