My Drag Week car build

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My Drag Week car build

It's been a little slow on the forum so I thought I would post up my new car build for DW. It's an 88 mustang I bought as a roller. I said I wouldn't ever crossbreed a car but I'm now eating my words since it's getting a 5.3 turbo with a glide. I thought I would post my progress so far. It's my first time to build a turbo anything so it ain't perfect but should work. I'm going to run a t76 turbo,80lb deka injectors,head studs,small cam,ls9 head gaskets,holley hp efi. I had a glide built with trans brake and ptc billet converter for turbo car. It's got a 8.8 rear with all the good stuff. it's already got a 8.50 cert cage but I'm not allowed to go faster than a 10.0 or 135mph. Any way here is some of my build and will add more as I get it done.

The car as I bought it as a roller.

Test fitting the motor.It's got a tublar k member so it fits like a glove.

Made a bracket to mount turbo flange so I would have a point to work from.

Hot side piping done.

Inside the y pipe I built going to turbo flange.Keep in mind this is my first attempt at building a turbo kit so all is not perfect.

Now on to cold side intercooler piping. My tig skills aren't the best in the world but managed to get the pipe to fit into the wheel well's pretty good.

Intercooler mounted. I'm changing the boots to black so the blue one's will be gone.The intercooler goes all the way to top of bumper cover so I may have to cut holes in bumper cover for more air flow but don't want to.

As you can see I got the turbosmart waste gate,downpipe and bov mounted in this pic. I'm going to header wrap everything on the hotside.

78 se trans am,67 rs ss camaro,69 BBO Javelin,55 chevy and a bunch of other junk that needs finished.

Not bad for the first time.... a 76 should make it scoot right along...
    you might just add a deflector to turn the air up into the cooler instead of
    cutting holes

Comment