X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Header Welding Tips Needed

My homemade headers finally bit the dust and now Ive got to make a new set. To make it a bit easier Im starting with a set of mild steel headman headers that fit well enough until they hit the frame. Does anyone have tips for welding techniques to avoid future cracking (which killed my previous stainless steel headers)? Ive got access to most all welding equipment (gas, MIG, TIG) but my success rate has been low with regards to cracking with MIG and TIG.
    BKB
    www.FBthrottlebodies.com
    Bruce K Bridges

Re: Header Welding Tips Needed

Where are your cracks typically occurring?
    I'm still learning

Comment

Bob,
      On the stainless headers I made they cracked just above the collector welds. The more I fixed em, the faster they cracked. The stainless steel was Chinese and of unknown alloy. I didnt purge them when I mig welded them originally which has been indicated by some as my bad. I havnt made a set of mild steel headers yet but I was hoping they were going to be more robust. Once I get em done Ill get them coated.
      www.FBthrottlebodies.com
      Bruce K Bridges

Comment

I'd go with 16ga mild steel tubing, TIG welded with silicon bronze rod.
        If you want stainless tubing then get it from kooks or somebody that actually uses it.
        A Carter Carb Shop, sales and service

Comment

I understand a MIG weld is very hard Maybe this has something to do with it. I don't have a lot of use full experience to really comment. I have always felt more comfortable gas welding mild steel exhaust pipes over MIG, being my own ability and have had good luck, don't recall any failures off hand.
          Tom
          Overdrive is overrated

Comment

I'm also interested in hearing about people's first hand experience with welding SS for heat cycling applications.