Exhaust, Removing Aluminized Coating

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Exhaust, Removing Aluminized Coating

I could have sworn that I'd read a post, here, about dipping the ends of exhaust pipe in something to remove the aluminized coating.

I need to do some exhaust work on the Red Furd and I don't like to grind the stuff off, it still seems to contaminate the weld and it thins the tubing where I want to weld.

Any help in either finding the post or providing the solutino would be appreciated.
    I'm still learning

phosphoric acid, or muriatic? (hydrochloric)

Phosphoric acid may be used as a "rust converter", by direct application to rusted iron, steel tools, or surfaces. The phosphoric acid converts reddish-brown iron(III) oxide, Fe2O3 (rust) to black ferric phosphate, FePO4.

"Rust converter" is sometimes a greenish liquid suitable for dipping (in the same sort of acid bath as is used for pickling metal), but it is more often formulated as a gel, commonly called naval jelly. It is sometimes sold under other names, such as "rust remover" or "rust killer". As a thick gel, it may be applied to sloping, vertical, or even overhead surfaces.

After treatment, the black ferric-phosphate coating can be scrubbed off, leaving a fresh metal surface. Multiple applications of phosphoric acid may be required to remove all rust. The black phosphate coating can also be left in place, where it will provide moderate further corrosion resistance (such protection is also provided by the superficially similar Parkerizing and blued electrochemical conversion coating processes).

Hydrochloric acid is a strong inorganic acid that is used in many industrial processes. The application often determines the required product quality.[5]