Funny car as a LSR car

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Funny car as a LSR car

I have been searching with out any results. Is it possible to convert a vintage funny car to run LSR El Mirage, Bonneville. I have a concern if it is practicle or possible with the exposed open bottom.

Not advisable unless you plan on adding about a half ton of weight....
    Act your age, not your shoe size. - Prince

Comment

That would take a HUGE amount of conversion. You'll want to get a rule book and READ it! <www.SCTA-BNI.org> IIRC) Yes, you'll need a full floor and that's just for starters. That said, with adequate prep you can run about anything in LSR so it's not totally out of the question - just work with the SCTA tech staff to get it ready. The BIG stuff is safety related. They've seen it all over the years and they have this crazy idea of keeping you alive even if you don't care about that.

I'm a rookie tech inspector but this is WAY beyond my experience level so I won't offer any specific input here.

Dan

Comment

Eating dirt or eating salt at just 50mph hurts. What's your threshold for pain?
        Last edited by Beagle; January 6, 2016, 07:53 AM.
        Flying south, with a flock of bird dogs.

Comment

I have a lot of time on my hands and have thought about converting vintage race cars. I never really expected it to work with open bottom and I think, well it was just a thought.

Comment

I think they add a couple of tons to make the cars stay on the ground and aid traction at speed for both places, so the weight penalty from adding in a full belly pan / fender line is actually to your advantage. Chad may be able to answer here, but I thought I remembered the Camaro "Special" of many names that Freiburger owns weighing in over 5000 pounds. I'd expect to have to make some structural changes for the extra weight, as I remember it, they flex a lot already.
            Last edited by Beagle; January 7, 2016, 09:04 AM.

Comment